random musings & musing about fan art and original art work

I have been meaning to write more thoughts about the Highlander reboot and Kindle worlds thingy. I got a little sidetracked. Things have a way grabbing behind the neck, and commence playing with you in a twisted game of twister.

I will have to get back to it. Anyways, I have nothing against fan art. The fan art I had seen online via deviant looks damn decent and looks impressive. The way I see it, fan art is just appreciation of writer’s intellectual property, and as a form of exercise for their imaginations.

I will admit that I downloaded fan art along with original art work. Being a visual person and suffer boredom.  I like to look at them and sometimes use them as wallpapers for my desktop.

One thought on “random musings & musing about fan art and original art work

  1. I had to turn to wikipedia for some information about fan art. ” As fan labor, fan art refers to artworks that are neither created nor (normally) commissioned or endorsed by the creators of the work from which the fan art derives.” I see. Well … fan art does not seem to me to encroach directly on another work of art. Call it “inspired by but not an imitation.” I see nothing wrong with it, and if it is good you should enjoy it and use it appropriately. When you have a chance, you might post some examples so I could see some directly.

Leave a Reply

