thoughts and self publishing route.

If and when, I go in the self published route. It’s going to take work, I mean lots of work. Editing, ebook covers, formatting, uploading and not to mention marketing. Putting in time, effort and money. Oh yeah, I  would have to copyright my work first. But before that I would have to get critiques and beta-readers.

With my situation, it would be most likely a self publishing route, Considering that I can’t go out of the community. Due to financial constraints.

They say the key of drawing attention of prospective reader is a book cover.

Mandy, one of the teachers once said that I would need at least five people to take a look at my writing. Critique and beta readers.

I think the days of huge advances and marketing are long gone. The maximum advance a writer can get is five grand. The minimum a writer could get is nothing.

With independent publishing platform, the return would trickle. Depending on how much one’s ebook is sold.  I think it’s not going to be much. For example, let say I sold an ebook for 1.99. I could get about 30 percent aka 0.59 per a book. Being on ODSP, I could get cut off. considering how strict they are. 

But then again, one’s ebook would get pulled off from digital shelves. Cutting into a writer’s earnings.

I know of only two places that a writer can self-published in Canada. Kobo Writing Life and Kindle Direct Publishing.

3 thoughts on “thoughts and self publishing route.

  1. As daunting as it sounds, getting the copyright was the easiest aspect of publishing. I did it myself online for $25; while the publishing house wanted $125. I used iUniverse and they did the cover for me.
    My advice: 1) check with whoever is on the receiving end of your emails to see what size they are getting. I have an Apple and used 12 font. They claimed they received it in 9 font so that was how they printed my book. My argument was since they required 12 font, why didn’t they let me know the type was wrong. I refused to pay the extra $200 they wanted to fix it. Other than that, they were good to deal with and did a fantastic job on the cover. (2) check how you earn you royalty: I was told I’d get 60%. I thought that wasn’t too bad. I had my own editing done. All they did was print it and design the cover. Anyway, you only got 60% when you bought 200 books, or some such high number. Sales were dismal. I bought 50 books. I gave away roughly 10 and still have 10 in the box. Even with the other things to consider like being a new author, having to do my own publicity, and my writing and promotion skills; the biggest factor for poor sales was the print size. Enthralled by the cover, people would pick up the book, look at the print then set it back down.
    I highly recommend you shop around. You might be able to do the whole thing on-line yourself through bookbaby. I dithered about trying them, but I want to go with a real publisher this time. They will have a stake in making sure the book is the best it can be.

    • Bookbaby and IUniverse? When it comes to self-publishing, I would stick with the limited choices I mentioned, Kobo Writing Life and Kindle Direct Publishing. Besides, I am leery of the self-publishing scams and vanity publishing houses. I wouldn’t touch them with a hundred foot pole.

      I live in Canada, not in the US. My options would be limited, when it comes to self-publshing. Nothing good comes from vanity publishing houses and self-publishing scams,

Leave a Reply

